Understanding PIP claims after a car accident
Tampa personal injury lawyer Armando Edmiston has the answers
If you’ve been injured in a crash, Tampa car accident lawyer Armando Edmiston will leave no stone unturned to help you get the compensation you need and deserve. Armando Personal Injury Law has recovered millions for clients in Tampa and throughout Florida. Find out how an experienced Tampa car accident attorney can help you. Contact us today for your free case evaluation.
Due to Florida’s unique no-fault car insurance system, dealing with insurance companies in the aftermath of a car accident can be overwhelming, confusing, and frustrating. If you’re a licensed driver in Florida, you are required to carry a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage as a benefit that you pay through your car insurance policy.
That means if you’re involved in a crash – regardless of who’s at fault – you are entitled up to a maximum of $10,000 in PIP medical and disability benefits to help you pay for your accident-related medical expenses, such as treatment and care. PIP also includes up to $5,000 in death benefits for loved ones of victims involved in fatal car accidents.
If your medical expenses exceed $10,000, you may be able to pursue a personal injury claim against the at-fault driver so that you don’t have to pay anything out of pocket. It’s important to note that in Florida, PIP benefits will only pay 80 percent of your medical expenses. That means if your injuries cost $10,000, then you would only be eligible to receive $8,000 in benefits and be on the hook for the rest of the bill.
How soon do I need to see a doctor to file a PIP claim?
For PIP claims in Florida, you are required to seek medical treatment from a licensed medical professional within 14 days of your crash, or your claim will be automatically denied. If you seek treatment from a chiropractor, you must have a referral from a licensed medical professional, and you are then only entitled to a maximum of $2,500 in benefits.
Does PIP provide benefits for lost wages?
If you sustain an injury in a car accident and you’re forced to miss time from work, Florida PIP will pay for 60 percent of your lost wages, up to $10,000. That limit also includes any benefits you receive for replacement services, such as housecleaning and childcare.
Will my car insurance rates go up if I file a PIP claim?
While other claims may raise your car insurance rates, using your PIP benefits should not result in an increase to your premiums. If you believe your car insurance rates were wrongly increased because of a PIP claim, you should contact your insurance company immediately. Ask them to state in writing the reasons why they increased your premiums. If they say it was due to a PIP claim, contact the Florida Department of Financial Services consumer helpline at 1-877-MY-FL-CFO (1-877-693-5236) to notify them immediately.
Get the help you need from a Tampa car accident lawyer
When you’ve been injured in an accident, trying to navigate the claims process on your own can be extremely stressful – especially when it comes to Florida’s unique laws regarding PIP claims. That’s why you need someone to stand by your side and guide you down the right path, every step of the way.
Let us go to work for you. Tampa car accident lawyer Armando Edmiston has a clear understanding of Florida’s car insurance laws and knows how to deal with the insurance company. Whether it’s through a negotiated settlement or a jury verdict, our law firm will put in the extra effort to help you get the compensation you’re entitled to. Don’t forget, our clients are family and we approach your problems like they’re our problems.
Best of all, you pay nothing unless we win. That’s because we represent our clients on a contingency fee basis. It’s that easy. Learn what an experienced Tampa car accident attorney can do for you. Contact us today for your free case evaluation.