FAQs: Answers to Frequently Asked Questions
Have a question? Find answers to frequently asked questions, or click on a topic below to jump to FAQs on that subject.
What types of cases does your firm handle?
What are your legal fees and fee structure?
Do you charge a fee for a consultation regarding my car accident case?
Do you charge a fee for a consultation regarding my slip and fall accident?
Do you charge a fee for a consultation regarding nursing home abuse for my father or mother?
What percentage of settlements and verdict awards do you take?
What is a contingency fee and how is it calculated?
If the defendant doesn’t pay do they get penalized with interest?
Do you accept legal insurance?
How much will I have to pay out of pocket for representation?
What is the best way to contact my attorney?
How can I contact after hours in an emergency?
What if my attorney does not answer my calls?
Do you make house calls or hospital visits to see clients?
If I am in a car accident in Florida, why is my car insurance PIP responsible for paying my medical bills instead of the at fault driver?
Will my car insurance go up for using my PIP insurance after a car accident that was not my fault?
Will I lose my social security benefits if I make a recovery for a car accident claim?
What do I do if I believe my car insurance rates were wrongly increased because of a PIP claim?
Email Address: Consumer.Services@myfloridacfo.com.
Statewide Toll-Free: 1-877-MY-FL-CFO (1-877-693-5236)
TDD Line: 1-800-640-0886.
Out of State Callers: (850) 413-3089
What do clients like most about working with your firm?
What is the statute of limitations for PI claims in Florida?
The statute of limitations for car accidents is 4 years.
Fla Stat. 95.11(3). (http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0000-0099/0095/Sections/0095.11.html). The statute of limitations for slip and fall accidents is 4 years from the date of accident
The statute of limitations for Nursing home abuse is typically 2 years but can be up to 4 if there was fraud or concealment. Fla. 429.296. (http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0400-0499/0429/Sections/0429.296.html)